bio

    Leo Hofmann (1986, CH/DE) creates, composes and performs concerts, performances, works for music theater and audio dramas. He works with voice, movement and electronics, examines music situated between medial immutability and transience, addressing the visual in playing music and the physical in sound.

    Since his MA studies of “Contemporary Arts Practice“ at Bern University of the Arts in 2013, Hofmann has received several prizes and grants, including the fellowship “Studio Roma” from the Istituto Svizzero di Roma, the “Giga-Hertz Encouragement Prize” for electronic music of the ZKM Karlsruhe, the “Swiss Performance Art Award” as well as the sound art fellowship of the state of Lower Saxony.

    Since 2013, several works in the field of music theater were developed under his direction, including “Teleprompter Paradise” – an electronica melodrama for two performers – the music theater “UNGEDULD” for three voices and live electronics (premiered at the Gare du Nord Basel) and the audio drama performance „Pachinko Playalong“ (premiered at the Imatronic-Festival 2014). His solo pieces as composer-performer were featured at many international festivals, theaters and galleries, e.g. at the SPOR Festival Aarhus, at the Cabaret Voltaire in Zurich, at the Festival KONTAKTE Berlin and at the Goethe-Institute Nairobi. For his installation “Muschelrauschen” (2011), he developed headphones which add impulses and currents of air to the ear-cups. The work has been shown at several exhibitions, including the Kunstquartier Bethanien, the Casa da Música Porto, the e-werk Freiburg and the Centre Pasquart.

    Along with Benjamin van Bebber and Leonie Böhm, he founded the “Institut für angewandtes Halbwissen” (Institute For Applied Half-Knowledge); an artistic research and production cooperation specialized in music theater, which focuses on qualities and sensibilities outside of opulence.

bio

    Leo Hofmann (1986, CH/DE) kreiert, komponiert und spielt Konzerte, Performances, Musiktheater und Hörspiele. Er arbeitet mit Stimme, Bewegung und Elektronik, untersucht Musik zwischen Flüchtigkeit und medialer Fixierung, befragt das Visuelle im Musizieren und das Körperliche im Klang. 

    Seit dem Abschluss seines Master-Studiums „Contemporary Arts Practice“ an der Hochschule der Künste Bern im Jahr 2013 erhielt Hofmann diverse Auszeichnungen und Förderungen, darunter die Residenz „Studio Roma“ des Istituto Svizzero di Roma, den „Giga-Hertz Förderpreis für elektronische Musik“ des ZKM Karlsruhe, den „Performancepreis Schweiz“, sowie das Klangkunst-Stipendium des Landes Niedersachsen.

    Unter seiner Leitung entstanden seit 2013 diverse musiktheatrale Arbeiten, u.a. „Teleprompter Paradise” – ein Electronica Melodrama für zwei Performer -, das Musiktheater „UNGEDULD“ für drei Stimmen und Live-Elektronik (UA Gare du Nord Basel) und das performative Hörspiel „Pachinko Playalong“ (UA Imatronic-Festival 2014). Als Composer-Performer spielte er an diversen internationalen Festivals, Konzerthäusern, Theatern und Galerien z.B. am SPOR Festival Aarhus, im Cabaret Voltaire Zürich, am Festival KONTAKTE Berlin und am Goethe-Institut Nairobi. Für die Installation „Muschelrauschen“ (2011) entwickelte er Spezial-Kopfhörer, die Luftströme und -impulse in die Ohrmuscheln leiten. Die Arbeit wurde u.a. im Kunstquartier Bethanien, im Casa da Música Porto, im e-werk Freiburg sowie im Centre Pasquart gezeigt.

    Zusammen mit dem Benjamin van Bebber und Leonie Böhm gründete er 2015 das „Institut für angewandtes Halbwissen“; eine künstlerische Forschungs- und Produktionsgemeinschaft, welche im Musiktheater nach Qualitäten und Sensibilitäten jenseits von Opulenz sucht.

     

     

    Im Archiv